First Week Home

Taking a bit to get our days and nights sorted but almost there.  I’m still feeling weird about driving on the right hand side of the road, although it feels normal – I still find myself thinking a moment before pulling onto the highway.  However, if I don’t think, turning into the proper lane comes naturally.  Hmmmm.  I think – therefore I’m confused.

Lots of catching up on the farm – fences to repair, batteries to charge, water tanks and lines to drain and cap off in preparation for winter.  It’s been wonderful weather for these activities.  Have had trouble with some corner posts, so am replacing them with traditionally set hedge posts.  The ground is not hard, so this job only took me about 45 minutes!

Using post hole jobbers to dig a 2 foot deep hole.  A spade helps get the job started as well as keeping the sides and bottom loosened
Using post hole jobbers to dig a 2 foot deep hole. A spade helps get the job started as well as keeping the sides and bottom loosened.
Post is installed, then all the dirt I took out is then tamped in and around the post.  This will leave several inches at the top for concrete.
Post is installed, then all the dirt I took out is then tamped in and around the post. This will leave several inches at the top for concrete.
All tamped in and hi-tensile wires wrapped around.  I haven't tightened the wires yet - will let the post 'set' for several days before putting any strain on it.
All tamped in and hi-tensile wires wrapped around. I haven’t tightened the wires yet – will let the post ‘set’ for several days before putting any strain on it.

I was able to sort off my five bulls from the cows and walk them a quarter mile to the corral for loading out.  They’ll spend the next 10 months hanging out with their bull peers.  What a life – work (not sure a bull would consider what he does as ‘work’) for two months, then just hang out for ten.

The boys and Allen are tearing out and building a new quarter mile of perimeter barbed wire fence at the Oertwig farm.  He and Christian had already hauled the bulls from all his cows earlier this month as well as rebuilding all the washed out water gaps from the flooding we had the day before the boys and I left for Scotland.

Sadly, my allergy symptoms began within 36 hours of our return – itchy eyes, scratchy throat, sneezing, itchy face and neck, congestion.  Dallas and I went to Columbia to the allergist and had our oral drops made and we started the treatment.  It will be at least 6 months before there is any change so in the meantime we may have to take some antihistamines.  The plan is that we’ll be symptom free next year!

Leave a Reply

